book review · short stories

Short Story Review: Green for but a Season

pacat

This wasn’t what I thought it would be – i.e. frisky Aimeric/Jord. (I don’t know why I thought Pacat would write something so simple and shallow – wishful thinking, I guess.) Instead I got all this lovely backstory about the Prince of Vere’s world before Damianos entered it, as remembered by my favorite secondary character.

And there was a fair amount of Aimeric/Jord – I’ll just always want more, and I’ll always want non-ambiguous answers about how sincere Aimeric’s feelings were, which I know isn’t Pacat’s intention to reveal, so I don’t know why I thought this story would be about that. But she still writes fanfiction-esque tropes so delightfully well, and I loved how hard she played the class difference card. ❤

Ugh. This was like 20 pages long and it killed me. <333 My heart. <333 Take me back to this world now and forever, please. Give me entire novels narrate by Jord, by Erasmus, by Nicaise, by everyone, please.

One thought on “Short Story Review: Green for but a Season

Leave a Reply

